1. Message from the Chairman
of the Committee of Executive
Directors and Chief
Executive Officer

Dear colleagues and friends,

We are pleased to present you with Sakhalin Energy’s 2018 Sustainable Development Report. This is our tenth, anniversary report, prepared in compliance with the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) standards. In the previous three years, each of Sakhalin Energy’s Sustainable Development Reports was devoted to a specific theme: safety, environment protection, and human rights. This year we are continuing this trend, and the key topic of the 2018 report is innovation.

In 2019, Sakhalin Energy celebrates its 25th anniversary. Over the years of successful operations, the company has steadily increased its production potential while demonstrating high performance. The energy community rightly considers our project to be a unique historic example of technological and innovative breakthrough, a successful combination of Russian and international experience. This is evidenced by Russia’s first Production Sharing Agreement (PSA), the installation of the country’s first ice-resistant offshore oil and gas platforms, the use of innovative technologies, and the implementation of integrated cutting-edge business solutions. The Sakhalin-2 project was the starting point for a new promising trend in the development of the Russian oil and gas industry: we were the first in the country to produce and export LNG.

Thanks to the adopted technical concept, Sakhalin-2 became one of the global leaders in LNG production: in 2018, it supplied about 4% of the world’s LNG, and covered about 5% of the LNG market in the Asia-Pacific region. Today, we sell oil and LNG to 19 countries, attracting new customers and expanding our supply portfolio year after year.

In addition to the external market, the Sakhalin-2 project plays an important role in the economy of the Sakhalin Oblast and Russia in general. Over the 25 years of operation, the company has made a significant contribution to the development of the region, as well as to a number of sectors of Russian economy. Sakhalin Energy has paid more than US$ 25 bln in taxes and other payments to federal, regional and local governments since the launch of the project, and has also made a commitment to supply entitlement gas to domestic consumers. The share of Russian content has noticeably increased, which has promoted localisation of equipment and component manufacturing in Russia. For instance, in 2018 a total of three Russian companies were awarded contracts for the supply of electrical equipment to Sakhalin Energy. The company has also completed the renewal of its fleet, supplementing it with best-in-class vessels built under a long-term agreement with Sovcomflot. The economic sanctions imposed on Russia significantly boosted our import substitution efforts. Sakhalin Energy, in cooperation with TMK, was the first in Russia to use Russian-manufactured premium threaded connection pipes at an offshore field.

In 2018, the company produced 61.7 cargoes of oil and 175.5 cargoes of LNG. Since project launch, we have shipped more than 1,500 cargoes of LNG and 600 cargoes of oil. It has been 20 years since the Molikpaq oil platform was installed at the Piltun-Astokhskoye field and 10 years since we commenced year-round oil loading operations at Prigorodnoye. Our LNG plant was recognised as the best integrated gas facility in Shell’s 2018 Rankings, while the onshore processing facility (OPF) was certified by Shell as MIE Proactive. Moreover, all three Sakhalin Energy offshore platforms topped the ranking of Shell offshore drilling platforms in terms of HSE. Pursuing its priority development area — resource base expansion — Sakhalin Energy has successfully carried out four-dimensional seismic surveys. This gives the company an opportunity to update its recoverable reserves estimates. The use of the most advanced technologies allowed us to drill a record ERD well from the LUN-A platform, thereby extracting hard-to-reach hydrocarbons and increasing the project’s reserves.

Another large-scale integrated project currently undertaken by Sakhalin Energy is Sakhalin Industrial Park, which is designed to serve as a technical competence hub for oil and gas sector on the island.

Our impressive production performance was achieved without any HSE incidents or violations. This is undoubtedly the effect of our Goal Zero journey that has become a core value for all company`s employees. This initiative has already gone far beyond the area of production. The company has made a transition to a new, proactive phase of the Goal Zero programme, aimed at expanding its scope, diversifying and improving personnel skills, and engaging contractors in Goal Zero activities. For example, Sakhalin Energy’s offshore production platforms have reached an important milestone — two years without recordable injuries, which is especially significant given the increased complexity and hazards associated with working at offshore production facilities.

Social policy and environmental protection are essential components that are conducive to effective operations of Sakhalin Energy. From day one, the company has been focusing on occupational safety and health of its employees and the general population. The company runs industrial environmental monitoring activities and implements a number of programmes in the fields of education, volunteering, and development of Sakhalin Indigenous Minorities. Many of our corporate social responsibility practices have been recognised as the best not only in the Russian Federation, but also on the global scale. We are the only Russian company to be selected by the UN to participate in the new Global Compact LEAD initiative. One of the company’s ongoing priorities is to contribute to the achievement of the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

As a result of its integrated approach to environmental safety, Sakhalin Energy has topped the environmental responsibility rating of Russian oil and gas companies for the third year in a row.

Dear friends,

In 2019, we will celebrate a number of significant milestones: the 20th anniversary of the start of Russia’s first offshore oil production, the 10th anniversary of the launch of Russia’s first LNG plant and the debut of Russian liquefied natural gas on the global market, and our most important milestone — the company’s 25th anniversary.

A powerful industrial complex with all the required infrastructure was built as a greenfield project in the severe climate and harsh natural environment of the Russian Far East. We were trailblazers in the development of Russian offshore oil and gas field, and we pioneered LNG production in our country.

Adherence to sustainable development principles is an integral part of Sakhalin Energy’s strategy for strengthening its leading position in the global LNG market. The company aims to improve its performance across the range of its activities and looks into the future with confidence.

Roman Dashkov

1. Обращение председателя
комитета исполнительных
директоров
и главного
исполнительного директора

Уважаемые коллеги, дорогие друзья!

Мы представляем вам отчет об устойчивом развитии компании «Сахалин Энерджи» за 2018 год. Это юбилейный, десятый отчет, который подготовлен в соответствии с требованиями Глобальной инициативы по отчетности в области устойчивого развития (Global Reporting Initiative или GRI). Четвертый год подряд издание носит тематический характер: предыдущие отчеты были посвящены безопасности, экологии и правам человека. Ключевой темой отчета за 2018 год стали инновации.

В 2019 году «Сахалин Энерджи» отмечает 25-летний юбилей. За годы успешной работы компания постоянно увеличивала производственный потенциал, демонстрируя высокую эффективность своей деятельности. Энергетическое сообщество по праву считает наш проект уникальным историческим примером технологического и инновационного прорыва, успешного объединения российского и международного опыта. Это подтверждают заключение первого в России Соглашения о разделе продукции (СРП), установка первых в стране морских нефтегазодобывающих платформ ледового класса, использование инновационных технологий и применение интегрированных современных бизнес-решений. Проект «Сахалин-2» стал отправной точкой нового перспективного направления в развитии российской нефтегазовой отрасли: мы первыми в России стали производить СПГ и поставлять его на экспорт.

Благодаря инновационной технической концепции «Сахалин-2» вышел в число мировых лидеров по производству СПГ, в 2018 году обеспечив около 4% мировых поставок СПГ и около 5% рынка СПГ стран АТР. Сегодня мы продаем нефть и СПГ в 19 стран мира, каждый год привлекая новых покупателей и расширяя свой портфель поставок.

Кроме внешнего рынка, проект «Сахалин-2» играет важную роль в экономике Сахалинской области и России в целом. За 25 лет работы компания внесла существенный вклад в развитие региона и ряда отраслей отечественной экономики. В ходе своей деятельности «Сахалин Энерджи» выплатила более 25 млрд долларов США в бюджеты Российской Федерации различных уровней, а также взяла на себя обязательства по передаче газа в натуральном виде для нужд газификации. Заметно увеличился уровень российского участия в реализации проекта, что послужило стимулом локализации в России производства оборудования и комплектующих. Например, в 2018 году одновременно с тремя российскими заводами были заключены договоры на поставку электрооборудования для «Сахалин Энерджи». Компания также закончила обновление морского флота, пополнив его лучшими в своем классе судами, построенными в рамках долгосрочного соглашения с ПАО «Совкомфлот». Экономические санкции дали существенный импульс процессу импортозамещения. В сотрудничестве с Трубной металлургической компанией мы первыми в России применили трубы с премиальными резьбовыми соединениями российского производителя на морском месторождении.

В 2018 году мы произвели 61,7 партии нефти и 175,5 партий СПГ. В итоге отгружено уже более 1500 партий СПГ и 600 партий нефти. Исполнилось 20 лет со дня установки на Пильтун-Астохском месторождении нефтедобывающей платформы «Моликпак» и 10 лет с начала круглогодичных поставок нефти с ПК «Пригородное». Наш завод по производству СПГ стал лучшим комплексным газовым объектом в рейтинге Shell за 2018 год, а объединенный береговой технологический комплекс — по итогам аттестации Shell в обеспечении технической целостности. По показателям ОТОС все три платформы компании возглавили рейтинг среди морских буровых платформ Shell. На приоритетном для нас направлении расширения ресурсной базы успешно выполнены четырехмерные сейсмические исследования на месторождениях. Это предоставляет возможность провести новую оценку извлекаемых запасов углеводородов. Использование наиболее прогрессивных технологий позволило нам пробурить на платформе ЛУН-А самую длинную горизонтальную скважину, тем самым извлечь труднодоступные углеводороды и нарастить ресурсную базу проекта.

Масштабным для «Сахалин Энерджи» также является реализация комплексного проекта создания Сахалинского индустриального парка, на основе которого планируется сформировать центр технических компетенций для предприятий нефтегазового сектора.

Высокие производственные результаты компании были достигнуты без происшествий и нарушений в сфере ОТОС. Это, безусловно, результат действия программы «Цель ноль», которую сотрудники компании принимают как жизненный принцип. Эта инициатива уже вышла за рамки производственной сферы. Компания перешла к новой, проактивной фазе реализации «цели ноль», которая направлена на еще более масштабное внедрение программы, расширение и совершенствование навыков работников, вовлечение в программу подрядных организаций. Например, морские добывающие платформы компании «Сахалин Энерджи» достигли важного показателя — два года без регистрируемых травм, что особенно ценно с учетом повышенной сложности и опасности работ на морских производственных объектах.

Социальная политика и охрана окружающей среды — важнейшие слагаемые обеспечения эффективной деятельности «Сахалин Энерджи». С самого начала деятельности компания ведет активную работу по охране труда и здоровья сотрудников и населения, осуществляет регулярный производственный экологический контроль, реализует ряд программ в сферах образования, волонтерства, поддержки коренных малочисленных народов Севера Сахалинской области. Многие наши практики в области корпоративной социальной ответственности признаны лучшими не только в Российской Федерации, но и в мире. Мы стали единственной российской компанией, выбранной для участия в новой платформе устойчивого корпоративного лидерства Глобального договора ООН. Одним из постоянных приоритетов компании остается вклад в достижение целей в области устойчивого развития (ЦУР) ООН.

Благодаря комплексному подходу в сфере экологической безопасности производства «Сахалин Энерджи» третий год подряд возглавляет рейтинг экологической ответственности российских нефтегазовых компаний.

Дорогие друзья!

В 2019 году мы отметим ряд значимых для нашей компании дат: 20-летие с начала добычи первой нефти на шельфе России, 10-летие со дня запуска первого в России завода по производству сжиженного природного газа и выхода российского СПГ на мировые рынки, а самое главное — 25-летие компании.

С нуля на Дальнем Востоке России в тяжелых климатических и природных условиях создан мощный производственный комплекс со всей необходимой инфраструктурой. Мы стали первопроходцами разработки российских шельфовых месторождений и пионерами производства СПГ.

Приверженность принципам устойчивого развития — неотъемлемая часть стратегии «Сахалин Энерджи» по укреплению лидирующих позиций на мировом рынке СПГ. Компания нацелена на повышение эффективности во всех сферах деятельности и с уверенностью смотрит в будущее.

Р. Ю. Дашков